Customer retention focuses on reducing churn and capitalizing on the customers you already have, rather than spending money trying to pull in new customers.
Updates from Churnkey's team of experts have been known to change lives.
A strong focus on customer acquisition is not enough to thrive as a modern subscription business. Customer retention is vital for SaaS company survival — especially since studies have shown that 80% of your future profits will come from 20% of your existing customers.
In short, customer retention is one of the best strategies for keeping your business’ revenue high. Why? Because customer retention focuses on reducing churn and capitalizing on the customers you already have, rather than spending money trying to pull in new customers.
If you have high customer retention, it not only increases your company’s revenue—it also demonstrates that you’re providing value. By contrast, it doesn’t matter if you only have great customer acquisition strategies. If you can’t deliver value to those customers once they’re through the door, then all of that acquisition is worthless.
That’s why customer retention analysis is so important. Let’s talk about how to measure your customer retention and exactly what metrics you need to take into consideration when you’re examining your data.
Your customer retention rate is the percentage of your customers who use and resubscribe to your service over time. There are a few different ways to measure your customer retention rate, but the easiest method is to use this retention formula:
(Number of customers at the end of a given time period – number of new customers) / Number of customers at the beginning of that time period
Here’s an example: say your SaaS company had 200 customers at the start of this quarter and 230 at the end. You also had 50 new customers that signed on after the start of this quarter. In this situation, the formula would look like this:
(230–50) / 200 = 0.90 or 90%
Now that we know how to measure your customer retention, let’s talk metrics. If you want to break down your customer retention into data you can analyze, here’s a list of the metrics that will help you zero in on every aspect of customer retention so you can start to reduce your SaaS business’s churn.
When it comes to SaaS growth, one of the most important things to examine is how many subscriptions you lose each payment period. MRR (monthly recurring revenue) churn is one of the biggest threats to SaaS companies and the most important to analyze, since it’s the measure of the overall erosion of your recurring revenue. Tracking and understanding your MRR churn allows you to create a better product, market it more effectively to your target audience, and enhance your SaaS growth.
MRR Churn Equation: MRR churn = Sum of MRR Cancellations + Sum of Delinquent MRR
Customer LTV will show you how much your customers are really worth — meaning how much they’ll spend over the course of their time with your business. To calculate LTV, you need to measure how much your customers generate in revenue minus their overall revenue churn.
Customer LTV Equation: Average revenue per user (ARPU) / MRR churn (or customer churn)
Unlike MRR churn, which is focused on your monthly recurring revenue, user churn is focused simply on the number of users you have. User churn is how many overall users left your company during a period of time. This metric is a good baseline for your company’s overall health and can help you determine how well-priced each of your service tiers are.
User Churn Equation: Number of churned customers / Total number of customers (for whatever time period)
We already know that MRR churn is a huge threat to SaaS growth. The good news? Churn doesn’t have to be the end of the road. The best SaaS companies put measures into place to get prior customers back. And reactivation MRR metrics help you track how much of your recurring revenue comes from previously churned and returned sources.
Reactivated MRR Equation: Sum of all monthly revenue from customers that formerly churned = Reactivation MRR
CAC is the amount you’re paying to get new customers. And it’s an important number to know if you want to understand the actual damage of your churn. If the amount you’re paying to get new customers (CAC) is higher than how much your customers are worth (LTV), then that’s bad news for your company.
CAC Equation: (Total cost of sales + Marketing) / number of customers acquired
Here’s where we get to bring the above metrics together. For most businesses, If you’re going to focus on one metric, this is the one. This is the metric that best predicts your overall SaaS growth potential. Essentially, if this ratio is high, you’re doing great. If it’s low, it’s time to work on some changes in strategy.
LTV to CAC Ratio Equation: LTV / CAC
Confusing graphs, conflicting values, and painful data comparisons are the norm for most subscription metrics. Worse yet, these products don’t actually fix the problem for you.
With Churnkey, all of your retention metrics are tracked in one place and optimized for maximum legibility. You’ll be able to see cancellation patterns, track how product releases affect churn, and uncover startling trends before they become systemic threats to your business.
Better yet, we do something about it. Typical Churnkey customers see cancellations drop by 42%, failed payments recovered at rates above 68%, and LTV increased by 28%. Boost your MRR with a demo or start combating churn now with a free trial!
Get more insights like this, right in your inbox.
We keep up with the latest in the world of subscription retention, so you don't have to.
We’ll take you on a quick, friendly, no-pressure walkthrough of what we do. And you’ll see why so many companies are graduating to Churnkey to boost their revenue and make customers happier.Chat With Us